Recipe for a Care Package

My mother-in-law used to say a parent is a parent “from the womb to the tomb.” I’ve had time to contemplate those words as my house is changing into an empty nest. I’m still a mother, but now I’m mothering from a distance most days.

This past week I’ve heard, “Please pray for boxing.,” “I can’t figure out if I should…,(fill in the blank),”Please pray for a friend,” “Please read over my essay. It’s due Friday,” “The banana bread was delicious. Please send more.”

So. I haven’t lost my job. It’s just changing. Moving forward. A good thing.

Here’s a recipe that leaves my crowd begging for more.

Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

3 ripe bananas , mashed                                  2 cups all purpose flour
*1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce               1 teaspoon lemon juice
3/4 cup sugar                                                        1 teaspoon dissolved in 4-5 tablespoons boiling water
2 eggs, slightly beaten                                       3/4 cup mini chocolate chips

Combine bananas, applesauce, and sugar thoroughly. Add eggs, lemon juice, soda and water, chocolate chips, and flour. Stir only until blended. Pour batter into a **bread pan lined with sprayed, wax paper.

Bake at 350 degrees for 50-60 minutes, until the top springs back when pressed.

*A full fat recipe would call for 1/2 cup butter.
**I use four mini loaf pans so that I can mail separate breads to different colleges!

Posted on September 7, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

