Time for Haiku

It’s fun to try different kinds of writing styles. Today I’ll share two examples of my attempts at writing Haiku. Remember that Haiku is a Japanese free verse form having three unrhymed lines of five, seven, and five syllables. Traditionally, the topic evokes an aspect of nature.

My first example follows the form but not the traditional subject. I wrote this Haiku several years ago in answer to a prompt suggested by a Pittsburgh radio program, the Saturday Light Brigade, a show geared toward families featuring word games and live music. I was excited when Larry Berger read it over the radio waves

fried pork tenderloin

Mommas’s hot, homemade biscuits

eating till I’m stuffed

 The next one is more traditional in that it describes what I saw outside my front window during last summer’s drought.

shrinking pond in heat

dark scavengers hoovering

upside down fish float

Haiku is a not-so-easy way to stretch writing muscles. Try one and see for yourself.

Posted on April 20, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

